Foto Source: sahabatnews.net

The cache keeps some data when we install an app on our smartphone so that we may access it more quickly afterward.

Precisely the same thing occurs with WhatsApp. The application caches the most frequently used files, so they load quicker, making the application more responsive and providing more excellent performance.

Where, then, is the issue? Files in a cache are transitory data. They are not intended to remain in our device’s memory for an extended period. If they are erased, nothing happens (the first time we use WhatsApp again, we will notice that it goes a little slower, but this is barely perceptible by the human eye).

The issue is that as time goes on and we use the application more frequently, the cache takes up more and more space on our smartphones. Because this will undoubtedly happen, it is a good idea to clear the WhatsApp cache occasionally.

How to clear WhatsApp cache

To delete the data from the WhatsApp cache we just have to follow these steps.

Android

  • Open the general Android “ Settings ” menu.
  • Enter “ Applications -> WhatsApp ”.
  • Select “ Storage & Cache ”.
  • Click on “ Clear cache ”.

iOS

The iPhone does not allow you to clear the WhatsApp cache since this is a task that the operating system itself manages. In any case, if we want to force the cache to be cleared, we can do it by uninstalling and reinstalling the application.

Of course, if you uninstall the app, make sure to make a backup before entering the WhatsApp settings menu from “Chats -> Backup -> Make a copy now.”

Is it advisable to also delete the application data?

If you are an Android user, you will have noticed that next to the option to clear the cache there is another option that says “Clear storage”.

This button lets you remove the user’s gathered data from the program. Your user data and logins, along with any personalizations and information you have kept in the app, will be gone if you delete them.

Therefore, it is advised against clicking “Clear storage” unless the program is synchronized in the cloud or you have a backup.

The only exception would be if the application malfunctioned and gave us issues. In this situation, deleting the storage data is advised because doing so typically fixes many of the application’s common faults and operational issues.

I'm a designer, gaming junkie, and social media addict. I love creating beautiful things, spending hours honing my skills in the virtual world, and connecting with people online. I'm always inspired by new challenges and love to share my work with others.